Ivory Coast squad for the Africa Cup of Nations

Liverpool defender Kolo Toure has been named in the Ivory Coast’s 23-man squad for the Africa Cup of Nations, starting next month.

The 33-year-old, who has won 112 caps for the Elephants, will announce his retirement from an international career after the tournament in Equatorial Guinea.

Premier League stars with the likes of Manchester City midfielder Yaya Toure, Newcastle United midfielder Cheick Tiote and Swansea City striker Wilfried Bony are also included in Herve Renard’s unit for the 2015 African Cup of Nations. However, the team will be without Chelsea striker Didier Drogba.

Ivory Coast will kick-off their against Group D rivals Guinea on January 20, before meeting Mali and Cameroon in the opening round of AFOCN 2015.

Ivory Coast squad:

Goalkeepers: Boubacar Barry (Lokeren), Sylvain Gbohouo (Sewe Sport), Sayouba Mande (Staebek)

Defenders: Jean-Daniel Akpa Akpro (Toulouse), Serge Aurier (Paris Saint-Germain) Eric Bertrand Bailly (Espanyol), Wilfried Kanon (ADO Den Haag), Sakia Tiene (Montpelier), Kolo Toure (Liverpool), Ousmane Viera (Rizespor)

Midfielders: Roger Assale (Sewe Sport), Serey Die (Basle), Ismael Diomande (St Etienne), Cheick Doukoure (Metz), Max Gradel (St Etienne), Cheick Tiote (Newcastle United), Yaya Toure (Manchester City)

Forwards: Wilfried Bony (Swansea City), Seydou Doumbia (CSKA Moscow), Gervinho (Roma), Salomon Kalou (Hertha Berlin), Junior Tallo (Bastia), Lacina Traore (Monaco)

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *