Yaya Toure named CAF African Footballer of the Year

The Ivory Coast and Manchester City midfielder Yaya Toure has been awarded with the 2013 African Footballer of the Year for the third time in Lagos, Nigeria. Nigerian midfielder John Obi Mikel was the second and the Ivory Coast striker Didier Drogba placed third. “I am very proud and very happy to receive this award, but would also like to congratulate my brothers, John Obi Mikel and Didier Drogba,” the 30-year-old Toure said.

The complete list of winners of the 2013 CAF Awards

African Footballer of the Year Yaya Toure
Best African-based Player Mohamed Aboutrika
Coach of the Year Stephen Keshi
Most promising Talent Kelechi Iheanacho
National team of the Year Nigeria
National Youth Team of the Year Nigeria Under-17
Club of the Year Al Ahly of Egypt
Referee of the Year Haimoudi Djamel
Legends of the Year Bruno Metsu, Jose Faria
Africa XI: Vincent Enyeama – Ahmed Fathi, Fari, Kevin Constant – John Obi Mikel, Yaya Toure, Mohamed Aboutrika, Jonathan Pitroipa – Emmanuel Emenike, Asamoah Gyan, Pierre-Emerick AubameyangCoach: Stephen Keshi

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *